Mayo Council: Sinn Féin will have at least three seats in new council

Outgoing Sinn Féin councillor Rose Conway topped poll with a whopping 2078 first preferences

Sinn Féin will have at least three seats in the new Mayo County Council.

Rose Conway Walsh topped the poll in the West Mayo Municipal District with a whopping 2,078 first preferences, Gerry Murray retained his seat in the Claremorris area while Therese Ruane triumphed in Castlebar.

Independent councillor Michael Kilcoyne, who exceeded the quota by well over 1,000 votes, will be elected on the first count in the Castlebar Municipal Area. Recounts were underway last night for the Castlebar and Ballina local electoral areas.

Other Independents in Mayo set to gain seats are Michael Holmes and Seamus Weir, both outgoing councillors. Mr. Weir resigned recently from Fine Gael because of its policy on high tension power lines.


John O’Hara (FG) and sitting councillor Annie May Reape (FF) are topping the poll in the Ballina Municipal District.

The seven candidates elected in Claremorris are: Patsy O’Brien (FG), outgoing), Martin Finn (Ind), outgoing, Gerry Murray (SF), outgoing, John Cribbin (FG), outgoing, Damian Ryan (FF), outgoing, Tom Connolly (FG), outgoing, and John Caulfield (FF).