Cork deny record chasing Galway


Cork 2-10 Galway 1-08

A strong second half performance steered Cork to victory over three-in-a-row chasing Galway in today’s All-Ireland minor hurling final at Croke Park.

Cork, who reached today’s final via the backdoor after losing the Munster final to Tipperary, trailed by a point at half-time but emerged far hungrier than their opponents in the second half.

What had proved a tight game sparked to life in the 41st minute when Cork corner forward Fergus Murphy was quickest to a breaking ball lobbed deep into the full forward line. He collected and fired to the back of the Galway net from close range.

Benefiting from a four point lead, Cork struck again fifteen minutes later. Kieran Murphy seized upon some slack Galway marking to pluck a sideline ball from the air. He made no mistake from close range to stretch Cork into a six point lead.

However, Galway made an immediate reply when record chasing captain and midfielder Ger Farragher netted from distance. On the stroke of full-time, Galway ‘keeper Dullaghan made a fine save to deny Setanta O’hAilpin from point blank range but Sean Considine’s side had done enough to win the title.

Tipperary v Galway updates