Byelections: events to date


The story so far

Dublin central byelection:

The byelection will fill the seat vacated following the death of Independent TD Tony Gregory.

Councillor Maureen O’Sullivan is being backed by Mr Gregory’s organisation. The Green Party will field solicitor David Geary and Senator Paschal Donohoe will run for Fine Gael.

Senator Ivana Bacik is expected to be the only runner when the Labour Party makes its choice of candidate today.

Fianna Fáil will make their choice of candidate tomorrow. Those in the running are councillors Tom Stafford, Mary Fitzpatrick and Maurice Ahern, brother of former taoiseach Bertie Ahern.

Sinn Féin has also yet to choose its candidate.

The party had considered Mary Lou MacDonald if the byelection had been held on a date separate to the European elections, but she could not be fielded for both positions.

It is understood they will choose from councillors Christy Burke and Seán McGrattan and candidate Ruadhain MacAodhain.

Dublin South

The byelection in Dublin South will fill the seat vacated by the late Fianna Fáil minister Séamus Brennan. Fianna Fáil has yet to make a definitive decision on a candidate, but Senator Maria Corrigan is in the running along with Shay Brennan, son of the late minister.

Fine Gael has yet to confirm its candidate but speculation intensified last night on RTÉ’s economics editor George Lee. The party’s deputy leader Richard Bruton said yesterday the to-be-named candidate had an established reputation in other fields and would bring something new to politics.

Labour has named Senator Alex White, the party’s spokesman on children, and the Green Party has chosen Elizabeth Davidson to run in the constituency.

The Workers’ Party will field Malachy Steenson and Ross O’Mullane will run as an Independent.