Arsenal’s Hector Bellerin included in Spain squad for Euro 2016

Vicente del Bosque names 19 players with four to be named, including Sergio Ramos

Arsenal defender Hector Bellerin has been included in Spain's final 23-man squad for the defence of their European Championship title.

Bellerin, the 21-year-old right-back who featured in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year, only made his international debut in a 3-1 victory over Bosnia on Sunday.

But after Real Madrid defender Dani Carvajal was ruled out of this summer's tournament with a hip injury sustained in the Champions League final, Bellerin was named in a provisional 19-man group by head coach Vicente del Bosque.

The Spain boss revealed his final four players later on Tuesday, with Sergio Ramos, Juanfran, Lucas Vazquez and Koke all making the cut, while the likes of Isco and Saul Niguez missed out.


“We have tried to select a balanced squad and I think every position is well covered in this 23,” Del Bosque said at a press conference.

“I’ve not spoken personally to any of the players who’ve been left behind. Everyone wanted to be here, but we only had 23 spots.”

Bellerin featured 44 times for Arsenal in all competitions this season. He had been placed on standby for Spain, but will now make the trip to France following Carvajal’s injury.

Carvajal left the field in tears in the 52nd minute of Real’s penalty shoot-out win over city rivals Atletico Madrid in Milan on Saturday and scans have subsequently revealed a grade-two tear of hip flexor muscles.

Spain open the defence of their title against the Czech Republic in Toulouse on June 13. They will also play Turkey and Croatia in Group D.

Spain squad for Euro 2016:

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Porto), David De Gea (Man United), Sergio Rico (Sevilla).

Defenders: Gerard Pique, Jordi Alba, Marc Bartra (all Barcelona), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Mikel San Jose (Athletic Bilbao), Hector Bellerin (Arsenal).

Midfielders : Bruno (Villarreal), Sergio Busquets, Andres Iniesta (both Barcelona), Thiago (Bayern Munich), David Silva (Manchester City), Pedro, Cesc Fabregas (both Chelsea).

Forwards: Aritz Aduriz (Athletic Bilbao), Nolito (Celta Vigo), Alvaro Morata (Juventus).