Manuel Lanzini charged with diving to win penalty

West Ham player retrospectively punished for ‘successful deception of a match official’

Stoke City’s Erik Pieters fouls West Ham United’s Manuel Lanzini and referee Graham Scott consequently awards a penalty. Photo: Andrew Yates/Reuters

Stoke City’s Erik Pieters fouls West Ham United’s Manuel Lanzini and referee Graham Scott consequently awards a penalty. Photo: Andrew Yates/Reuters

 

West Ham’s Manuel Lanzini has been charged for diving to win a penalty against Stoke on Saturday, the Football Association has announced.

The 24-year-old Argentine went down when challenged by Erik Pieters and West Ham captain Mark Noble converted from the spot to give the visitors a 1-0 lead.

The decision infuriated Stoke manager Mark Hughes, who is now under even more pressure following the 3-0 home defeat.

Lanzini has until 6pm on Tuesday to respond to the charge, which is officially known as the “successful deception of a match official” — in this case referee Graham Scott.

New this season, a simulation charge only comes when there is clear evidence a player has fooled an official into winning a penalty or getting an opponent sent off, either via a straight red card or second yellow.

Decisions are made, on a fast-track basis, by a panel comprised of one ex-official, one ex-manager and one ex-player — all three review the video footage independently and a charge follows only when they are unanimous.

If the charge is accepted or upheld by an independent commission, the guilty player receives a two-match ban and any cards involved are rescinded.

Last month, Everton striker Oumar Niasse was banned for diving to win a penalty in his side’s 2-2 draw with Crystal Palace.

In Monday’s Daily Mail, ex-referee Graham Poll wrote that he thought Lanzini would avoid a charge, describing it as “a bit of a dive but not an outrageous” one.

“I’m sorry if that doesn’t make sense but that’s how hard it is to referee players such as Manuel Lanzini,” Poll added.

Speaking to reporters after Saturday’s game, Hughes said: “I’ve seen it again. The guy’s dived. He’s drawn the challenge. He’s a clever player.

“It was clearly a dive and the ref’s seen something that no-one else saw. All in all, it was a poor sequence of events for him and for us.

“It sounds like sour grapes when you talk about people getting punished retrospectively. It doesn’t help us now.”

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
SUBSCRIBE
GO BACK
Error Image
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.
Screen Name Selection

Hello

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
SUBSCRIBE
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.