Penney makes five changes for Gloucester

Munster captain Peter O’Mahony returns to lead a side that show four changes in the pack

 Peter O’Mahony. Photograph: Dan Sheridan/Inpho

Peter O’Mahony. Photograph: Dan Sheridan/Inpho


Munster coach Rob Penney has made five changes to the Munster team for tomorrow’s Heineken Cup game against Gloucester in Thomond Park (6.0).

Johne Murphy replaces the injured Simon Zebo, albeit coming on the left wing with Keith Earls switching flanks, while there are four changes to the pack. Damien Varley comes in at hooker, Donncha O’Callaghan is recalled to secondrow with Donnacha Ryan moving to blindside flanker to replace the injured Paddy Butler.

Captain, Peter O’Mahony returns, and replaces James Coughlan at number eight. Mike Sherry and Stephen Archer drop to the replacements, along with Coughlan. Cathal Sheridan is also on the bench.

Munster: F Jones; K Earls, C Laulala, J Downey, J Murphy; I Keatley, C Murray; D Kilcoyne, D Varley, BJ Botha; D O’Callaghan, P O’Connell; D Ryan, N Ronan, P O’Mahony (capt). Replacements: M Sherry, J Cronin, S Archer, J Coughlan, CJ Stander, C Sheridan, JJ Hanrahan, D Hurley.

Gloucester: 15. Martyn Thomas, 14. Charlie Sharples, 13. Mike Tindall, 12. Ryan Mills, 11. Jonny May, 10. Jonny Bentley, 9. Dan Robson, 1. Dan Murphy, 2. Darren Dawiduik, 3. Rupert Harden, 4. Lua Lokotui, 5. Will James (capt), 6. Matt Cox, 7. Akapusi Qera, 8. Ben Morgan. Replacements: 16. Daniel George, 17. James Gibbons, 18. Yann Thomas, 19. James Hudson, 20. Gareth Evans, 21. Tavis Knoyle, 22. Freddie Burns, 23. Rob Cook.