Lisnagarvey take home EYHL Champions Trophy

It was their 18th consecutive win in the EYHL, backing up their incredible campaign

Lisnagarvey completed an immaculate season with an awesomely composed victory over Co Down rivals Banbridge at Havelock Park to win the inaugural men's EY Hockey League Champions Trophy.

It was their 18th consecutive win in the EYHL, backing up their incredible regular season campaign with this 3-1 final victory.

All the goals came in the first half as Michael Watt’s corner deflection, a stunning Daniel Buser touch and a dink from Matthew Nelson with the last play of the first half did the damage, cancelling out Stevie Dowds’s penalty stroke.

It was a whirlwind start with Watt diving on to Timmy Cockram’s disguised drag-flick from the first corner of the game.


Buser's goal was even more spectacular, sliding on to Paul Gleghorne's cross. Dowds gave Banbridge life when James Lorimer was struck on the line by Matthew Bell's initial shot. It was a rare breach, though.

Rock solid defence

From there, Garvey’s defence was rock solid with Gleghorne and

Neal Glassey

– even in spite of a 10-minute yellow card – were imperious.

Bann kept coming forward in the second half but when Jonny McKee’s pair of chances went awry, Garvey were home and hosed.

It was their first All-Ireland title since 2011, soothing some of the pain of their recent Irish Senior Cup final defeat to Monkstown in contentious fashion.

It means Lisnagarvey will, more than likely, return to the Euro Hockey League for a second time next season while Bann will be Ireland’s second European representative. Where they will play in 2016/17 is in their own hands as they play in Glasgow in two weeks time in the Euro Club Champions Trophy.

Stephen Findlater

Stephen Findlater

Stephen Findlater is a contributor to The Irish Times writing about hockey