Ireland named as co-host of 2030 T20 World Cup

England, Wales and Scotland will share the tournament after successful bid to ICC

Ireland has been named as a co-host of the 2030 ICC Men's T20 World Cup alongside England and Scotland.

The English governing body, the ECB also represents the game in Wales, leaving open the possibility of tournament fixtures taking place in Cardiff.

It remains to be seen how many games will take place in Ireland, or indeed at what venues. Clontarf Cricket Club hosted a 1999 World Cup clash between West Indies and Bangladesh, while Malahide, Bready and Stormont have all saw international fixtures last summer.

The news means that Ireland will not have to go through a qualifying process for the 2030 tournament. Ireland secured passage to the most recent iteration of the T20 World Cup through a qualifying tournament in 2019.


Warren Deutrom, chief executive of Cricket Ireland, acknowledged that details still needed to be worked out, but nonetheless labelled Tuesday’s announcement as an exciting one for Irish cricket: “This is great news for Irish cricket fans who will be able to see some of the world’s best cricketers playing in the most dynamic format of the game on Irish shores.”

“While we have hosted several ICC qualifier tournaments in the past and of course a 1999 World Cup fixture in Clontarf, this will be the first time multiple matches in a major world cricket event will feature in Ireland.”

“We appreciate that there are still a number of details to clarify around hosting arrangements, not just for the co-hosts but also to enable our Government partners to move beyond in-principle support, but today’s announcement gives a green light for those discussions to begin in earnest.

“We believe the enormous global exposure of one of world’s major sporting events will provide a huge boost for not just the sport on this island, but also the country through local economic impact and visibility in major tourism and economic markets.”

Various other tournament hosts were also announced on Tuesday. The USA will host a T20 World Cup for the first time in 2024, while Namibia will host World Cup matches for the first time in 2027.

Pakistan have been awarded the 2025 Champions Trophy, a major boost for the country after safety concerns have limited their ability to host international cricket. Earlier this year, both New Zealand and England controversially pulled out of tours citing security concerns.

2024 T20 World Cup: USA and West Indies

2025 Champions Trophy: Pakistan

2026 T20 World Cup: India and Sri Lanka

2027 ODI World Cup: Namibia, Zimbabwe and South Africa

2028 T20 World Cup: Australia and New Zealand

2029 Champions Trophy: India

2030 T20 World Cup: England, Ireland and Scotland

2031 ODI World Cup: India and Bangladesh