Cricket international Elena Tice called up to Irish hockey squad

Loreto youngster and Ulster Elks’ Gemma Frazer in squad for Scotland series

When a player called up to the Irish senior panel has a 1997 date of birth, time is moving a little too fast.

But having made her cricket debut for Ireland when she was just 13, making her the second youngest player ever (male or female) to play in an official one day international, Elena Tice probably feels like a veteran at 17.

The St Gerard's, Bray schoolgirl, who plays her club hockey with Loreto, has been included in Graham Shaw's squad for a three-match series against Scotland in Glasgow next month, Ulster Elks' Gemma Frazer the second new name to be selected.

New faces

With a number of established players unavailable for the series, Shaw took the opportunity to bring in the new faces and recall others, including goalkeeper Pamela Smithwick.


On the club front, Ulster Elks begin the defence of the Irish Senior Cup they won last season with a tricky trip to Old Alexandra, while the team they beat, Hermes, host Connacht champions Greenfields in Dublin.

There are three all-Ulster ties in the round, with Pembroke Wanderers v Loreto and Railway Union v Glenanne all-Leinster affairs.

IRISH SQUAD: K McDonald, C Brown (both Ards), C Sargent, Y O'Byrne (both Cork Harlequins), N Evans, N Carroll (both Hermes), H Matthews, E Tice, A Meeke, H Mulcahy (all Loreto), P Smithwick (Old Alexandra), S Davis (Pembroke), K Mullan, G Pinder, E Beatty, D Duke, K Lloyd (all UCD), S McCay, M Frazer, G Frazer (all Ulster Elks). Irish Senior Cup – First round – Saturday: Pembroke Wanderers v Loreto, TBC, 12.0; UCD v Queens, Belfield, 12.50; Ballymoney v Church of Ireland, Ballymoney, 1.0; Old Alexandra v Ulster Elks, Alexandra College, 1.0; Pegasus v North Down, Queens, 1.0; UCC v Belfast Harlequins, The Mardyke, 1.0; Hermes v Greenfields, Booterstown, 1.15; Lisnagarvey v Dungannon, Comber Road. 2.30; Railway Union v Glenanne, Park Avenue. 2.30; Randalstown v Armagh, Antrim Forum, 2.30. Byes: Ards, Corinthian, Cork Harlequins, Lurgan, Muckross, Trinity.