Grogan kicks Aherlow to title


Aherlow 2-4 Loughmore Castleiney 1-6:BARRY GROGAN kicked an injury-time point to clinch a dramatic win for Aherlow over 13-man Loughmore-Castleiney at Semple Stadium, Thurles, yesterday.

His winning point in the 62nd minute of a hard-fought encounter, crowned a fine individual performance by him as he had earlier blasted home the 44th minute goal which had ignited a struggling Aherlow side.

Aherlow’s victory, which gave them their second title, was well deserved but they had a nail-biting finish to endure as Liam McGrath’s 64th-minute free for Loughmore tailed wide of the post.

Loughmore-Castleiney, seeking their 12th title, had the better of things in the opening half. They went three points clear after nine minutes, but Conor O’Shea’s goal for Aherlow in the 17th minute levelled the game.

Loughmore responded with a Cian Hennessy goal in the 23rd minute created by Micheál Webster, and they led at the interval by 1-5 to 1-1.

David McGrath, the Loughmore goalkeeper, stopped a Barry Grogan piledriver in the 41st minute but he could do nothing three minutes later when Grogan latched on to a delivery from Séamus Grogan to blast home a goal that brought the sides level.

The intensity of the game grew and after John Scully restored Loughmore’s lead, they had forward James Egan sidelined with a second yellow card.

Grogan levelled once more for Aherlow with a 54th-minute free. Then Loughmore had defender Aidan McGrath sent off in injury-time with a second yellow card for a foul which led to Grogan shooting the winning point for Aherlow.

Beaten finalists last year, Aherlow last won the title in 2006, and on this occasion Barry Grogan was their star. His brother,Séamus, Ciarán McDonald, Laurence Coskeran, Cathal Dillon and substitute Tom Hanley were others to shine.

AHERLOW: B Moroney; M O’Brien, J Hennessy, M Hanley; S Mullins, Chris McDonald, Ciarán McDonald; C Dillon, S Moloney; B O’Brien, S Grogan, L Coskeran; C O’Shea (1-0), B Grogan (1-4, 0-2 frees), D Peters. Subs: T Hanley for O’Shea; T Fahey for B O’Brien

LOUGHMORE-CASTLEINEY: D McGrath; T Long, E Connolly, W Eviston; A McGrath, C McGrath, T King (0-1); D Kennedy, J Scully (0-1); J Egan (0-2, one free), L Treacy, N McGrath; L McGrath, M Webster (0-2, one free), C Hennessy (1-0). Subs: P Brennan for Scully; J Meagher for Hennessy; D Bourke for Treacy.

Referee: B Tyrell (Clonmel).