Patrickswell dethrone Limerick champions Na Piarsaigh in semi-final

Limerick star Lynch’s side face Kilmallock in the final while Dunloy hurlers make it three-in-a-row in Antrim

Hurler of the Year favourite Cian Lynch is on the brink of yet more success after powering Patrickswell through to the Limerick SHC final.

Lynch was among the scorers at TUS Gaelic Grounds where the 2019 champions dethroned holders Na Piarsaigh, winning 3-21 to 1-22, to set up an October 24th final clash with Kilmallock.

Early goals from Kevin O'Brien and Patrick Kirby put Patrickswell in the clear and those goals would stand between the teams for most of the game. Patrickswell led 2-11 to 1-9 at half-time, Keith Dempsey netting for Na Piarsaigh, and it was back to a six-point game at the second water break, 3-16 to 1-16.

Thomas O’Brien helped Na Piarsaigh cut the deficit to four points late on but the ’Well held on for an impressive win.


Oisín O'Reilly fired 2-4 for Kilmallock in the earlier semi-final to keep their hopes of a first title since 2014 alive, seeing off Doon 4-20 to 2-16.

TJ Reid, Eoin Cody and Colin Fennelly were all on the scoresheet as reigning All-Ireland club champions Ballyhale Shamrocks returned to the Kilkenny SHC semi-finals.

Shamrocks fell behind to Bennettsbridge in the second quarter but drew level by half-time and kicked on for a 0-27 to 1-15 win to set up a semi-final clash with James Stephens. Tullaroan will play O'Loughlin Gaels in the second semi-final.

Conal Cunning fired 1-11 for Dunloy to help secure a three-in-a-row of Antrim SHC titles, their fourth success in five seasons. Cunning, Sean Elliott and Chrissy McMahon all struck first-half goals to put Dunloy in a strong position at 3-7 to 0-6 up.

Stephen Beatty pulled a 53rd minute goal back for O'Donovan Rossa but the game was already up at that stage as Dunloy cruised to a 3-23 to 1-14 win at Corrigan Park.

The Tipperary SHC quarter-final ties, to take place next weekend, are; Kilruane MacDonaghs v Loughmore-Castleiney, holders Kiladangan v Upperchurch-Drombane, Mullinahone v Borris-Illeigh and Thurles Sarsfields v Clonoulty-Rossmore.

Finished strongly

In football, Clann na nGael will face neighbours Padraig Pearses in the Roscommon SFC final on October 31st. A 0-14 to 0-10 win over Roscommon Gaels, inspired by strong performances from Ciarán Lennon and Ultan Harney, secured Clann na nGael's decider spot.

Donagh Flynn's 2-1 haul eased Coolera/Strandhill to a 2-13 to 0-8 win over Drumcliffe/Rosses Point in the Sligo SFC – setting up a final date with six-in-a-row chasing Tourlestrane who needed extra-time to see off Curry on Saturday.

Armagh kingpins Crossmaglen Rangers finished strongly to defeat Killeavy 1-15 to 0-11 and take their place in the Orchard County semi-finals.

The sides were tied with seven minutes remaining but a series of points and Rian O’Neill’s injury-time goal did the trick for Cross. They’ll face Silverbridge in the last four on October 22-24 while Ballymacnab will play Clann Éireann.

Meath holders Ratoath had to dig deep too, overcoming rivals Summerhill 0-14 to 0-11 to set up a semi-final date with Wolfe Tones. Donaghmore/Ashbourne and St Peter's, Dunboyne will also square off after weekend wins.

Jack Brady's 27th minute goal was the decisive score in Ramor United's 1-13 to 0-13 win over Ballinagh in the Cavan quarter-finals.

Seven of the eight Dublin SFC quarter-finalists are now known following the near completion of Round 3.

Castleknock and Ballinteer St John's must meet in a play-off and the winners will play Ballyboden St Endas. The other three quarter-final ties are; Thomas Davis v St Judes, Ballymun v Lucan Sarsfields and Na Fianna v Kilmacud Crokes.

In Wicklow, the quarter-final line up is; St Pat's v Avondale, Donard/Glen v Baltinglass, Rathnew v Dunlavin and Blessington v Arklow Geraldines Ballymoney.