Limerick hold firm like champions to pass Cork test

2015 All-Ireland winners hold off late surge to reach Munster U-21 hurling semi-finals

Cork 2-15 Limerick 3-19

Limerick withstood a firm test from Cork to reach the Munster U-21 hurling semi-final with a deserved victory in front of a crowd of 3,238 at Páirc Uí Rinn on Tuesday night.

Late goals from Shane Kingston and Mark Coleman forced the reigning champions to endure some anxious moments before substitute Oisin O'Reilly netted for a second time in the third minute of injury-time.

In the first-half Limerick started like All-Ireland champions, surging 1-8 to 0-2 clear inside the opening quarter, scoring 1-6 without reply in a blistering spell despite facing the wind.


Midfielder Pat Ryan hit three points in quick succession before Barry Nash's determined run through the middle set-up Ronan Lynch for a fine 10th minute goal.

Cork settled, though, with three Pa O’Callaghan points helping them reel in Limerick’s lead to trail by just a goal, 1-12 to 0-12, at the interval, but Limerick dominated on the resumption.

They swept 1-18 to 0-13 in front by the 48th minute and an O’Reilly goal with his first touch three minutes later seemed to have settled matters before the late rush of goals.

Cork: P Collins, captain; D Browne, S O'Donoghue, D Griffin; R Cahalane (0-1), M Coleman (1-2, one from a free, one from a '65), C Twomey; N Cashman (0-1), D Noonan (0-1); D Fitzgibbon, S Kingston (1-6, five from frees), P O'Callaghan (0-3); A Spillane (0-1), T O'Mahony, L Meade. Subs: D Lee for Cashman 28 mins, C O'Leary for Noonan 40 mins, M O'Halloran for O'Mahony 45 mins, C Cormack for Meade 48 mins, M O'Connor for Lee 55 mins

Limerick: E McNamara; M Casey, captain, R English, S Flanagan; C Ryan, C Lynch (0-2), A La Touche-Cosgrave; R Lynch (1-8, six from frees, one from a sideline), P Ryan (0-3); D O'Donovan (0-2), B Nash (0-2), D Dempsey; A Gillane, T Morrissey (0-1), P Casey (0-1). Subs: B Murphy for Gillane half-time, O O'Reilly (2-0) for Morrissey 50 mins, L Lyons for Nash 55 mins, J Quaid for Dempsey 59 mins

Referee: R McGann (Clare)