Three recounts remain as Neville holds Limerick


Recounts remain in only constituencies after Mr Dan Neville retained his Dáil seat after a recount in Limerick West was halted by his Fine Gael party colleague, Mr Michael Finucane.

The recount was initially ordered after Mr Neville won the third and final seat in the constituency by just one vote from Mr Finucane, who was also a sitting TD in the constituency.

However, in Cork South Central, a recount is due to begin this afternoon after original counts showed Fianna Fáil’s Mr John Dennehy trailing Independent candidate, Ms Kathy Sinnott by just three votes.

In Wicklow, a recount has been suspended until Thursday. Yesterday, the Labour Party took legal advice on the outcome after it emerged during the count that Independent Ms Mildred Fox was just 47 votes ahead of Labour's Nicky Kelly in the race for the last seat.

In Cavan-Monaghan, the recount will not begin until tomorrow. Just over 100 votes separate Fine Gael candidates Mr Seymour Crawford and Mr Andrew Boylan for the last seat.