Spring takes seat in Kerry North


The result was as predicted in Kerry North - Limerick West, with outgoing Fianna Fáil TD McEllistrim losing his seat.

The result means the constituency is without a Fianna Fáil deputy for the first time in the history of the State.

There has been a McEllistrim in Dáil Éireann for all but nine years since 1923.

Long-serving Fine Gael TD Jimmy Deenihan was a runaway poll-topper in the three-seat constituency. He took 12,304 first preferences, 900 votes over the quota, and was elected in the first count.

Labour’s Arthur John Spring and Sinn Féin’s Martin Ferris were elected on the seventh count, both exceeding the quota of 11,404.

Mr Spring, a nephew of former tánaiste Dick Spring, attributed his success to a re-energised Labour organisation and disillusionment with high unemployment in the constituency.