Sligo deny Louth in Rackard final


Nicky Rackard Cup final: Louth 3-10 Sligo 3-19 -The curtain raiser at Croke Park saw Sligo crowned Nicky Rackard Cup champions for the first time today after they defeated Louth 3-19 to 3-10.

Louth went ahead through a Sean Conroy goal but the advantage was short-lived as the Connacht side responded by putting 2-07 on the board without reply.

Keith Raymond (1-08) and Paul Severs (1-04) were integral to Sligo's points tally as Mickey Galvin's led 2-12 to 2-05 at the break

Ronan Byrne and Diarmuid Murphy found the net for Louth either side of half-time, but Severs was on hand to ensure the memorable win.