SF unveils shadow portfolios


Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams has announced the allocation of his party's shadow portfolios in the new Dáil, with himself covering the Taoiseach, deputy leader Mary Lou McDonald shadowing the Minister for Public Expendture and Reform and Donegal TD Pearse Doherty as finance spokesman.

In a statement to journalists at Leinster House, the Sinn Féin president and newly elected Louth TD, who was accompanied by the other 13 members of his parliamentary party said: “Sinn Féin is putting forward a first class team to shadow the Government and hold them to account.

“I have every confidence that this enhanced Sinn Féin team will play a constructive role in this Dáil. Our priority will be to protect those on low and middle incomes, defend Ireland’s national interests and promote Irish unity.”

The full list of porfolios is:

Gerry Adams – Party Leader, shadowing Taoiseach

Mary Lou McDonald – Deputy leader and Spokesperson on Public Expenditure and Reform

Aengus Ó Snodaigh – Spokesperson on Social Protection and Party Whip

Pearse Doherty – Spokesperson on Finance

Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin – Spokesperson on Health and Children

Padraig MacLochlainn – Spokesperson on Foreign Affairs and Trade

Peadar Tóibín – Spokesperson on Enterprise, Jobs and Innovation and An Gaeltacht

Jonathan O'Brien – Spokesperson on Justice, Equality and Defence

Martin Ferris – Spokesperson on Communications, Energy and Natural Resources

Seán Crowe – Spokesperson on Education and Skills

Brian Stanley – Spokesperson on Environment, Community and Local Government

Micheal Colreavy – Spokesperson on Agriculture, Food and Marine

Dessie Ellis – Spokesperson on Transport and Housing

Sandra McLellan – Spokesperson on Arts, Heritage, Tourism and Sport