Young Scientist winners: Chemical Physical and Mathematical Sciences

Maria Louise Fufezan and Diana Bura of Loreto Secondary School have won the top prize at the BT Young Scientist and Technology Exhibition for their project looking at the damage being done to soil fertility by animal feeds.


The winners in the chemcial, physical and mathmatical sciences category of the BT Young Scientist & Technology Exhibition have been announced.

There were cash prizes on offer for the successful students with €300 going to the winner of the individual and group projects in the intermediate junior and senior sections.

Senior (Group)

1. Aleksander Kozina, Keshav Sapkota

2. Siun Ni Cheallaigh, Róisín Nolan, Alanna Slater

3. Cormac Larkin, Nathaniel Grant, Conor McKeown

Senior (Individual)

1. Antanas Murelis

2. Jack O’ Callaghan

3. Jack O’Meara

Intermediate (Individual)

1. Haroon Hussain

2. Seán Byrne

3. Naoise Cunningham

Intermediate (Group)

1. David Hamilton, Paul Hamilton

2. Fionnuala Garvey, Niamh Kiely

3. Ultan Farrell, Katie Lawlor

Junior (Individual)

1. Sarah Sweeney

2. John Huggard

3. Emily Cathcart

Junior (Group)

1. Yasmin Sheehan, Amanda Moloney

2. Jasmine Odabi, Diamond Nzekwe

3. Alexandra Kenny, Eve Healy