Rebels hold on for another title


Cork 1-09 Dublin 0-11: Cork were crowned All-Ireland champions for the fifth consecutive year at Croke Park this afternoon, but not before they were given a major fright by underdogs Dublin, who were left to rue Sined Aherne’s missed penalty and a gift of a goal in the first five minutes.

The Dubs began brightly and were two points ahead within minutes thanks to Aherne and Amy McGuinness, but the latter’s weak penalty was easily gathered by Cork goalkeeper Elaine Harte.

Cork led by that stage after Nollaig Cleary finished off a flowing move but Dublin fought back, with Mary Nevin leading the charge, and led by 0-6 to 1-2 at the interval.

Cork’s greater experience began to tell after the break and scores from the excellent Valerie Mulcahy and Mary O'Connor soon had them in front. And despite being pushed all the way by the ‘Jackies’, the Leesiders prevailed to win by the narrowest of margins.

Clare 3-10 Fermanagh 1-11: Clare atoned for last year’s defeat with a 3-10 to 1-11 win over first-time finalists Fermanagh in the TG4 All-Ireland ladies intermediate football showpiece.

The Banner County led by seven with 20 minutes to go and looked sure to win until Fermanagh dug in to level the scores by scoring 1-4 without reply.

Spurred into action, Clare went on a scoring spree of their own and racked up 1-3 in the final seven minutes, with Majella Griffin scoring her second of the game to set them on their way to victory.

Antrim 3-10 Limerick 2-08: In the Ladies Junior Football final last year’s beaten semi-finalists Antrim ran out five point winners over Limerick thanks largely to two goals from wing-forward Mairead Cooper.