Labour's national executive: how the members voted


Labour's National Executive Council decided by 13 votes to 12 not to run a candidate in the presidential election. Though the voting list was not made public last night, it was believed to be as follows:

Those who voted not to run a candidate were: NEC chairwoman, Ms Breeda Moynihan-Cronin; party leader, Mr Pat Rabbitte; the party's deputy leader, Ms Liz McManus; Mr Mossie Gleeson, Oakpark Road, Tralee, Co Kerry; Ms Peggy Hamill, Castleknock, Dublin; Waterford councillor Mr Fiachra Ó Ceilleachair, Dunmore Road, Waterford; SIPTU national president, Mr Jack O'Connor; Mr Owen O'Shea, who serves as one of Labour's press officers; Mr Alan Sherry; Labour Women delegate, Ms Bridget Bermingham; former Labour programme manager, Mr James Wrynn; Dublin North West TD, Ms Roisín Shortall; Dún Laoghaire TD, Mr Eamon Gilmore.

Those who voted for Labour running a candidate were: NEC vice-chairman, Mr Henry Haughton; Labour's national treasurer, Mr David Leach, from Ballincollig, Co Cork; the party's president, Galway West TD, Mr Michael D. Higgins; Mayor of Sligo, Ald. Declan Bree; Mr Peter Fitzgerald, Dublin City University; Ms Sadie Kelly, Kilkenny Cllr; John McGinley, Maynooth, Co Kildare; Ms Joanne Rourke, Castleknock, Dublin; Mr John Ryan, Bruff, Co Limerick; Ms Carmel Stewart, Clontarf, Dublin; Labour unions' representative, Mr Frank Barry; Labour Youth delegate, Ms Rebecca Moynihan.