‘The Irish Times’ named Newspaper of the Year by ‘Tonight with Vincent Browne’

Journalist of the Year award to Mick Clifford for coverage of Gardaí and Justice Affairs

The Irish Times has been named Newspaper of the Year by the Tonight with Vincent Browne show on TV3.

It is the second year in a row the paper has won the show’s annual media award.

The Journalist of the Year award went to Mick Clifford of the Irish Examiner.

Kitty Holland of The Irish Times, a nominee for the award, was praised for her social affairs coverage.


The story of the year award was for Mr Clifford’s coverage of An Garda Síochána and justice matters.

He was praised for his overall reporting on the penalty points controversy, the Garda whistleblower revelations, the crisis over the automatic recording of calls to Garda stations and the events leading to the resignation of then minister for justice Alan Shatter and the retirement of then Garda commissioner Martin Callinan.

The award for Columnist of the Year went to Gene Kerrigan of the Sunday Independent for the second year running. Irish Times columnist Miriam Lord was nominated in this category, and particularly praised for her Dáil sketches. The Website of the Year award went to thejournal.ie.

The judges were Independent MEP Luke "Ming" Flanagan, Independent Senator Marie-Louise O'Donnell and Marie Moran, a lecturer at the UCD school of social justice.