Famous names in new crop


ANALYSIS/Fianna Fáil: The crop of new Fianna Fáil TDs includes some former deputies and senators. M. J. Nolan (51) was elected in Carlow-Kilkenny, while Dr Dermot Fitzpatrick (62) was confirmed as the second Fianna Fáil TD in Dublin Central, after a recount yesterday. Four other senators were also elected to the Dáil. They are Jim Glennon (48) who was elected in Dublin North, Denis O'Donovan (46) in Cork South-West and John Cregan (40) in Limerick West.

The Seanad leader Donie Cassidy won in Westmeath, at the expense of his colleague, the Minister for Public Enterprise, Mrs O'Rourke.

One of the most intriguing new TDs is Cllr Tom McEllistrim (33), whose successful campaign in Kerry North included ignoring and avoiding the media and party headquarters. His Dáil success follows in the footsteps of his father and grandfather. He defeated his running mate and party front-runner, Senator Dan Kiely, for the seat.

The new constituency of Dublin Mid-West elected Cllr John Curran, a community activist and GAA enthusiast. Dublin's Lord Mayor, Michael Mulcahy (41), won in Dublin South Central, while Cllr Charlie O'Connor (56) won in Dublin South-West.

Cllr Barry Andrews (35), a barrister, succeeded his father, former minister for foreign affairs David Andrews, in the Dún Laoghaire seat. Joe Callanan, a full-time farmer and father of six, won in Galway East, while Seán Ó Fearghaíl got elected in Kildare South. In Mayo, Cllr John Carty (51) replaced Minister of State Tom Moffatt, who lost his Dáil seat. Tony Dempsey (57), a former school principal and staunch GAA member, was a winner in Wexford. Dr Jimmy Devins, a GP and member of Sligo County council, was elected on the sixth count in Sligo-Leitrim.

One of the new women TDs in the Dáil is Máire Hoctor, a Nenagh Urban District councillor, who succeeded in Tipperary North.

The Mayor of Waterford and chairman of the county council, 57-year-old father of 10 Ollie Wilkinson, was elected in Waterford. A life-long member of the GAA, he established a thriving enterprise centre in the region.He won out against the sitting Fianna Fáil TD, Brendan Kenneally.

Peter Kelly, a publican, won in Longford-Roscommon, and Cllr Peter Power proved victorious in Limerick East.