Bridge Notes


Connaught, with a score of 435 victory points, won the major interprovincial bridge championship at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel, Athlone. Runners-up were Ulster with 428. Leinster came third with 379, and Munster last with 371.

The winners were represented by - team No 1: R Timlin, the Rev E Glynn, M MacDonagh, D MacAonghusa. No 2: D Walsh, C Coyne, M Burke, E Gallagher. No 3: Michael and Marlene O'Connor, S MacMathuna, M O'Farrell.

Intermediate championship placings - 1. Leinster, 428; 2. Ulster, 416; 3. Munster, 396; 4. Connaught, 373. Leinster - No 1: S Treanor, M Moonan, E Scott, D O'Connor. No 2: P Wills, M Moran, I Newell, A Howard. No 3: F Gallagher, A Carty, T and M Keyes. Non-playing captain: R McNamara.

Regional pairs championships - Dublin North: major (Marie Cummins Cup), and inter A (McLoughlin Cup), next Sunday (2.30 p.m.), Malahide Centre. Entries: Mary Kelly Rogers (01-8450028). Dublin South: major (Quin Cup), next Sunday (1.30 p.m.). Entries: Martha Tuite (01-4934889); inter A (Joe Moran Trophy), next Friday (7.30 p.m.), and Sunday. Entries: Maire Lohan (01-2980640); inter B (Duffy Cup), next Sunday (7 p.m.). Entries: M Lohan. All three events at the Templeogue Centre. Western: major (Weir Cup), inter A, and inter B plus novices, next Sunday (2 p.m.), Galway Centre. Entries: Miriam Moloney (091-528240).

Hotel Kilkenny congress, pairs - Major: 1. F O'Farrell, T Tierney; 2. P Healy, D O'Sullivan; 3. A Onishuk, J Strom. Local: P Troy, J Campbell. Sessional winners: D Nee, M Somers; M Brennan, M Bolger. Mixed: 1. S Scallan, L Duggan; 2. K Byrne, D Kearns; 3. B Deevey, B Grace. Local: P and M Troy.

Inter A: 1. K O'Reilly, A Reville; 2. K O'Shea, M Whelan; 3. D and M O'Neill. Local: P Wall, J Byrne. Sessionals: I and V Nolan; Malachy and Mai Skelly. Inter B: 1. M O'Malley, F Gill; 2. S Roche, J Power; 3. A Montgomery, A Sheridan. Local: M Feighery, K Lawlor. Novice: 1. M Lynch, G Murphy; 2. M.A. Winters, S O'Reilly; 3. M and A Tobin. Local: L O'Driscoll, A Lennon.

Teams: 1. M Keeshan, S Cahill, R O'Farrell, M Clews; 2. S ╙ Lubaigh, R Fitzgerald, B Lynch, J MacCormack. Inter A: M Brennan, M Bolger, R Dowling, S Carew. 2nd session: P Byrne, A Hodgers, F and C Bellew. Grand prix: M N O'Connor.

Portlaoise open pairs championship (Jessop Cup): 1. M Somers, D Nee; 2. M Nee, E Kennedy; 3. P Conroy, E Fingleton. Jeyes/IWP inter B open pairs championship, Templeogue Centre, Dublin: 1. T and T Gilligan; 2. B Higgins, N Dawson; 3. C Moran, F Brady.