Tiernan O’Halloran to captain Connacht against Ospreys

Pat Lam makes five changes as his side look for a third straight win at Liberty Stadium

Ospreys v Connacht, Liberty Stadium, Saturday October 24th 1.30pm, S4C

Pat Lam has named five changes to his Connacht side for Saturday’s trip to Swansea to play the Ospreys.

With John Muldoon named on the bench Galway-born Tiernan O’Halloran will skipper the province for the first time as his side look to pick up their third consecutive Pro 12 win.

Having recovered from injury Jack Carty makes his return to the starting XV, with Craig Ronaldson moving to inside centre and Bundee Aki partnering him at 13.


Meanwhile Daragh Leader is set to make his first start of the season, replacing the injured Danie Poolman, while 21-year-old academy hooker Shane Delahunt makes his second senior start in the frontrow alongside Denis Buckley and Rodney Ah You.

Aly Muldowney is also set to make his first start of the season, alongside Quinn Roux in the secondrow, while Eoughan Masterson comes in at number eight and is joined in the backrow by Eoin McKeon and Nepia-Fox Matamua.

Connach boss Lam said: “We always said we would have to rely on our full squad in this busy block of games and we’ve made some changes this week as planned, especially with a few guys carrying niggles. There is a lot good competition for places in the squad and everyone is desperate to get in to the team so I have no doubt the guys coming in will be keen to perform.

“Tiernan (O’Halloran) is named as captain and I’m delighted for him and his family. He is part of our leadership group and even at 24 years of age, he’s one of the senior players on and off the pitch. “

Connacht: Tiernan O'Halloran, Darragh Leader, Bundee Aki, Craig Ronaldson, Matt Healy, Jack Carty, Kieran Marmion, Denis Buckley, Shane Delahunt, Rodney Ah You, Quinn Roux, Aly Muldowney, Eoin McKeon, Nepia Fox-Matamua, Eoghan Masterson.

Replacements: Dave Heffernan, Conan O'Donnell, Finlay Bealham, Ultan Dillane, John Muldoon, Ian Porter, Rory Parata, Niyi Adeolokun

Ospreys: Richard Fussell, Tom Grabham, Ben John, Josh Matavesi, Eli Walker, Sam Davies, Brendon Leonard, Ryan Bevington, Sam Parry, Dmitri Arhip, Lloyd Ashley, Rory Thornton, James King, Sam Underhill, Dan Baker.

Replacements: Scott Otten, Paul James, Aaron Jarvis, Rynier Bernardo, Joe Bearman, Justin Tipuric,Tom Habberfield, Dan Evans