Claire Molloy and Simon Geoghegan inducted into rugby writers’ Hall of Fame

Billy Holland receives Tom Rooney Award in recognition of his contribution to Irish rugby

Former Ireland rugby international and current Wasps player Claire Molloy has been inducted into the Guinness Rugby Writers of Ireland Hall of Fame, as has former Ireland, Bath, London Irish and Connacht winger Simon Geoghegan.

Molloy, who announced her retirement from international rugby this year, won 74 caps for her country over the course of a 12-year Test career. She was an integral part of a team that won a Grand Slam in 2013, two Six Nations Championships and Ireland's first victory over New Zealand in 2014. She also captained both the 15s and Sevens teams during her career.

Geoghegan is perhaps best known for his try in the 1994 Five Nations match against England at Twickenham, that was instrumental in a famous 13-12 win. It was one of 11 which Geoghegan scored in 37 appearances for Ireland in an era when wins were not bountiful.

Former Munster player, Billy Holland, was announced as the recipient of this year's Tom Rooney Award in recognition of his immense contribution to Irish rugby. Holland, who earned one cap for Ireland, retired in June of this year having played 247 times for Munster.


Molloy was delighted to receive the accolade, saying: "To follow in the footsteps of my former team-mate and captain, Fiona Coghlan and be inducted into the Guinness Rugby Writers of Ireland Hall of Fame is an incredible honour for me.

"I was lucky enough to be awarded as the women’s player of the year in 2018 and to be recognised once again by the Rugby Writers of Ireland is an absolutely amazing feeling.”