Quinlan's try seals win for Wesley


  CENTRE JAMES Quinlan was the hero of the hour as Wesley College squeezed past St Gerard’s School by virtue of a nip-and-tuck 10-5 win in the Leinster Schools’ (Section B) Junior Cup first round at Seapoint yesterday.


It was all-square at the break, with Wesley prop Aaron Campbell’s tackling a first-half feature. Centre Jack Hastings was first on the scoreboard with a 32nd-minute penalty.

Then, his midfield partner Quinlan broke through for their try in the 44th minute, converted by Hastings, to enable them to resist a late St Gerard’s onslaught which yielded a try from wing Michael Weir.

The High School backs cut the CBS Naas defence to ribbons with five of their six tries coming from fullback Jamie Connell (2), wing Conor Sexton (2) and centre Ian Sheridan, the other from loose-head prop Jordan McQuaid in a 38-0 demolition job on the Section A qualifiers and Duff Cup finalists at North Kildare RFC.

Last year’s Junior Cup semi-finalists Cistercian College Roscrea blitzed Templeogue College 55-0 in Newbridge.

The scoring plaudits were shared by fullback Philip O’Dwyer, with a hat-trick of tries, and centre Trevor Higgins, who assembled 20 points, including a try.

King’s Hospital were also merciless in their 30-0 dispatch of Duff Cup qualifiers Mount Temple at Malahide.

Three wingers in Jake Byrne (2), Will Nolan and replacement Adam Fowler accounted for a quartet of tries, while fullback Darragh Reynolds and centre David Butler made it a clean sweep for their backline.


At Seapoint: Wesley College 10(James Quinlan try; Jack Hastings pen, con); St Gerard’s School 5(Michael Weir try).

At North Kildare: The High School 38(Jamie Connell, Conor Sexton 2 tries each; Ian Sheridan, Jordan McQuaid try each; Luke O’Donnell 4 cons); Naas CBS 0.

At Newbridge – Cistercian College, Roscrea 55(Philip O’Dwyer 3 tries; Trevor Higgins try, pen, 6 cons; Eamon Quirke, Matt Melloette, Sean O’Brien, Cormac Brennan try each); Templeogue College 0.

At Malahide – King’s Hospital 30(Jake Byrne 2 tries; Darragh Reynolds, Will Nolan, David Butler, Adam Fowler try each); Mount Temple 0.