Old Leighlin: 1-10, Palatine: 0-11


Old Leighlin won their first ever Carlow senior football championship title when defeating Palatine by two points, in a very evenly contested final watched by 4,000 spectators at Dr Cullen Park.

The game's only goal came in the 44th minute from Old Leighlin corner forward Brian Lawlor and it put his side 1-8 to 0-6 in front.

The new champions had led 0-7 to 0-4 at half time.

Old Leighlin: S Bambrick; N Sheehy, N Bambrick, K Hayden; M Jordan, T Connolly, S McLean; R McGrath (0-1), N Jordan (0-1); J Hayden (0-1), B O'Brien (0-1), S Hayden (0- 1); M Roche, J Nevin (0-3), B Lawlor (1-1). Sub: J Carey (0-1) for Roche.

Palatine: T Hickey; M Nolan, B Farrell, A Hosey; P O'Dwyer, P Cunningham, P Mullins; M Brennan, J Byrne; L Cullen, M Kelly, B Gordon (0-2); P Reid (0-1), John Reid (0-2), James Reid (0-5). Subs: J Kelly for Pat Reid, B Kelly (0-1) for Mark Kelly, K Fitzharris for Cullen.