Jordan Boles wins qualifier for 99th West of Ireland Championship

Charleville golfer cards three-under-par 68 at County Sligo

This year’s West of Ireland Amateur Championship at County Sligo will have a new format. Photograph: David Cannon/Getty Images

Charleville's Jordan Boles took advantage of perfect scoring conditions to win the 18-hole qualifier for the Connolly's Audi-sponsored West of Ireland Amateur Championship at County Sligo.

The Cork golfer made six birdies and three bogeys in a three-under-par 68 to finish a shot clear of Co Sligo's David Brady and Gerard Finnegan, David Marshall Jnr of Naas, Portmarnock's Brandon St John, Edmondstown's Thomas Abom and Bundoran's Michael McCaughey.

A field of 92 took to the links at Rosses Point, seeking one of 22 spots in the 99th edition of the championship, which tees off on Friday with a new format.

The 132-player field will play three strokeplay rounds, with tee times in score order on Sunday and the top 16 qualifying for the matchplay stage next Monday and Tuesday.


Gweedore’s Pádraig Ó Dochartaigh was eighth in the qualifier with a one-under 70, while some familiar Irish golfing names claimed some of the other spots in the field.

Milltown's Harry Fanagan, a son of 1997 winner and former Walker Cup player Jody Fanagan, claimed 11th place with a level-par 71 alongside Rory Williamson and Shane McGlynn.

Another eight players made it through on 72, including Warrenpoint's Rian Carvill, a nephew of former South and East of Ireland champion Jim Carvill.

There was a four-man playoff for the last three spots in the field after Ballinasloe's Tom Cafferky, Grange's Jonathan Hayden, Co Sligo's Rory Underwood and Cregmore Park's Ronan O'Reilly tied for 20th with two-over 73s.

All four parred the first hole before Underwood and Cafferky parred the short, par-four second, and O’Reilly made bogey to progress at the expense of Hayden, who made a double-bogey six and is now the first reserve.

Royal Dublin's Hugh Foley is the defending champion, while Co Sligo hopes will be carried by Irish international and reigning South of Ireland champion TJ Ford.

West of Ireland men’s amateur open qualifier

At Co Sligo GC (par 71)


68 J Boles (Charleville)

69 D Brady (Co Sligo), D Marshall Jnr (Naas), G Finnegan (Co Sligo), B St John (Portmarnock), T Abom (Edmondstown), M McCaughey (Bundoran)

70 P Ó Dochartaigh (Gweedore)

71 R Williamson (Holywood), S McGlynn (Portmarnock), H Fanagan (Milltown)

72 J Sheahan (Galway Bay), A Barr (Ballymena), R O’Connor (Co Sligo), P McGrath (Galway Bay), N Crawford (Mourne), K Robinson (Castlewarden), R Carvill (Warrenpoint), B Reilly (Royal Tara)

73 T Cafferky (Ballinasloe), S Underwood (Co Sligo), R O’Reilly (Cregmore Park), after two playoff holes.

First reserve: J Hayden (Grange).