Garryowen weather storm


Cork Constitution won the inaugural Munster Clubs' Championship at Musgrave Park on Saturday after surviving an early storm from old rivals Garryowen. Barry Everett gave Garryowen a third-minute lead with a superb try, but afterwards the light blues flattered to deceive against an under-strength, but determined Constitution side.

Tom Kiernan kicked a penalty and Barry McLaughlin raced in for two tries to leave Cork leading 13-5 at the break.

And while Kevin O'Riordan gave Garryowen hope with a 56thminute try, Alan Byrne wrapped it up for Cork with a penalty five minutes from the end.

Cork Constitution: A Horgan; T Kiernan, T Breen, K Mullin, N Murray; A Byrne, B McLaughlin; P Soden, F Sheehan, J O'Driscoll, S O'Connor, K Murphy, U O'Callaghan, C Kehilly, J Canning.

Garryowen: D Crotty; J Clarke, K Keane, J Brooks, K O'Riordan; B Everett, T Tierney; P Spain, Cunningham, K Ronan, V Humphreys, S Leahy, D O'Sullivan, P Hogan, D Wallace.

Referee: G Bennett (Munster).