Niall Burke, Adrian Tuohey and Seán Loftus absent from Galway squad

Henry Shefflin names 34-man championship squad ahead of opener against Wexford

Henry Shefflin has named his panel for this year's hurling championship, which opens on April 16th, away to Wexford. As well as the retired pair, Joe Canning and Aidan Harte, a number of other players have been left out.

Adrian Tuohey, who started the All-Ireland win in 2017 and Niall Burke, who made a big impact coming off the bench in the same match, are both omitted as well as All-Ireland panellist Seán Loftus.

All three played at some stage in the league campaign just concluded. Loftus started last year’s championship defeat by Waterford, whereas Tuohey came on as a replacement that day.

As previously announced Daithí Burke takes over the captaincy from Pádraic Mannion and Joseph Cooney is named as vice-captain.


GALWAY SHC (panel): Daithí Burke (capt), Joseph Cooney (vice-capt), Éanna Murphy, Darach Fahy, Darren Morrissey, Jack Grealish, Fintan Burke, Jack Fitzpatrick, Declan Cronin, Stephen Barrett, Pádraic Mannion, Gearóid McInerney, Tiernan Killeen, Shane Ryan, TJ Brennan, David Burke, Ronan Murphy, Johnny Coen, Cathal Mannion, Conor Cooney, Ronan Glennon, Tom Monaghan, Jack Hastings, Brian Concannon, Conor Whelan, John Fleming, Evan Niland, Donal O'Shea, Kevin Cooney, Gavin Lee, Cianan Fahy, Greg Thomas, Éanna Burke, Jason Flynn.