Tyrone minors too good for Donegal in Ulster decider

Second half goals from Conor Owens and Cormac Devlin prove crucial

Tyrone 2-11 Donegal 1-7

Tyrone were crowned Ulster minor champions for the 24th time as they got the better of Donegal at Brewster Park on Friday night.

Second half goals from Conor Owens and Cormac Devlin sealed it for Tyrone as they set up an All-Ireland semi-final clash with Cork.

They got off to a flyer with two points in the opening minute, but those Cormac Devlin and Ronan Strain scores were to be their lot for the first quarter.

Donegal went level through Daniel McCormack and Daniel Marley, and after Sean Martin and Tyrone’s Eoin McElholm (with a mark) had exchanged scores, they were still deadlocked after 20 minutes.

But Tyrone began to dominate Donegal’s kick-out, and scores from Devlin, Gavin Potter, Ronan Donnelly and Ronan Cassidy sent them in at the break with a 0-7 to 0-3 interval lead.

They lost powerful midfielder Ruairí McHugh to a black card, but conceded just two points during his 10 minute absence. They restored their four point advantage with scores from Eoin McElholm and Cassidy. And in the 49th and 50th minutes they struck a crucial blow with two goals.

First substitute Owens blasted home his shot from McElholm’s pass, then Shea O’Hare sent Devlin in for a clinical finish.

Donegal pulled a late goal back when substitute Karl Joseph Molloy buried his shot when a loose ball fell into his path.

But they had too much to do, and Tyrone hit back with scores from Owens and Devlin to set up an All-Ireland semi-final against the Munster champions.

Tyrone: N Robinson; M Rafferty, R Fox, C Kelly; H Cunningham, S O'Hare, M Mallon; R Donnelly (0-1), R McHugh; R Strain (0-1), C Devlin (1-3), G Potter (0-1); R Cassidy (0-2, one free), P McCann, E McElholm (0-2, one mark).

Subs: C Owens (1-1) for McCann (45 mins), N Grimes for Cassidy (51 mins), B Hughes for Cunningham (61 mins), J Martin for Strain (61 mins).

Donegal: A Cullen; D Gallagher (0-1), C Gallagher, K Magee; S Martin (0-1), E Friel, O Caulfield; S Ward (0-1), C Reid; C McGeever, K McCormack (0-1), C McGinty; D Marley (0-1), P McElwee, L McGlynn (0-1 free).

Subs: J Doherty for Friel (25 mins), G Kelly for Reid, M Callaghan (0-1) for McElwee (both half-time), C McColgan for McGinty (48 mins), K Molloy (1-0) for McCormack (52 mins).

Referee: A Marron (Monaghan).