Summerhill and Roscommon CBS schools to face off in Connacht football final

St Gerald’s and St Jarlath’s lose our in shock semi-final results

Summerhill College will face Roscommon CBS in the Connacht colleges senior A football final after both schools upset big names to reach the decider.

Daniel Foley goaled in the last minute to send Roscommon CBS into their first final since 1998 and hand them the win a 2-3 to 0-7 win over St Gerald's at the Connacht GAA Centre.

St Gerald's, who were looking for a third provincial title in a row, trailed by 1-3 to 0-0 at half time, and it appeared as if they had done enough to reach the provincial final as two points each from Jarlath O'Malley, Matthew Ruane and James McGinty, and another from Calum Kyne gave Gerald's a one-point lead with time running out.

But with Noel Gately’s first-minute goal in the bag, super sub Foley stepped up 30 seconds from the end of normal time to hit their crucial goal, and reach the decider for the first time since they last won the title 17 years ago.


Summerhill College remain on course to end a 30-year wait for their eighth 'A' title after Paddy O'Connor's extratime goal saw them past St Jarlath's of Tuam on a 1-7 to 0-8 scoreline.

Record winners St Jarlath’s trailed by 0-5 to 0-0 after the first quarter as Summerhill made the most of a strong wind, but the Sligo side would have been disappointed to only lead by three points at the interval.

A Conor Brady point got St Jarlath's off to the perfect second half start, but further points from Diarmuid Mulcahy and Nathan Rooney looked to have given Summerhill the win.

However, Conor Marsden kicked the last three points of normal time to force extra time, but O'Connor's goal in the 69th minute clinched Summerhill's spot in the decider.