Cork make six changes as they look to open account against Dublin

Tyrone make seven changes for match against Derry

Cork hurlers come to Dublin on Saturday looking for their first win of the current Allianz League Division One A campaign and manager Kieran Kingston names a much changed side from that which lost to Waterford in week two of the competition.

Injuries keep out Colm Spillane, whose season is over because of a cruciate ligament rupture and Aidan Walsh, who underwent surgery for a broken nose sustained in the last match. Shane O'Neill is sitting exams, whereas William Egan, Lorcán McLoughlin and William Leahy drop to the bench.

Others missing are the suspended Alan Cadogan and another defender, Conor O'Sullivan, is still ruled out with a groin injury.

In come Killian Burke, Cormac Murphy, Mark Ellis, Brian Lawton, Séamus Harnedy and Stephen Lawton.


Armagh manager Kieran McGeeney brings in Stephen Sheridan and Tony Kernan for the trip to Kingspan Breffni Park to play Cavan. They replace Stefan Forker and Andrew Murnin.

Tyrone have changed half the side that won in Portlaoise last week. Niall Morgan replaces Michael O'Neill is goal in one of seven changes.

Ronan McNamee, Rory Brennan, Kieran McGeary, Peter Harte, Richard Donnelly and Connor McAliskey are also called in to replace Hugh Pat McGeary, Justin McMahon Niall Sludden, Mark Bradley, Conor Meyler and Darren McCurry.

Roscommon make only one change to the team that started last week’s big win down in Cork. Joint managers Kevin McStay and Fergal O’Donnell bring in Conor Daly for his brother Niall, who he replaced against Cork after the latter picked up a facial injury, which still keeps him out for this week’s match against Down, now switched to Longford.

One more win is likely to assure Roscommon of retaining their Division One status next year.

There is one change on the Monaghan team to play Mayo. Daniel McKenna is named at full forward in place of the injured Kieran Hughes. Otherwise the team that were unlucky to lose against Dublin last week remains intact.

CORK (AHL v Dublin): A Nash; K Burke, C Joyce, S McDonnell; D Cahalane, M Ellis, C Murphy; D Kearney, B Lawton; B Cooper, S Harnedy, P Cronin; C Lehane, S Moylan, P Horgan. Subs: P Collins, S Murphy, C Buckley, W Egan, L McLoughlin, P Haughney, J Cronin, P O'Sullivan, L O'Farrell, C McCarthy, W Leahy.

ARMAGH (AFL v Cavan): M McNiece; A Mallon, C Vernon, S Connell; M Shields, S Heffron, S Sheridan; A Findon, S Campbell; N Grimley, A Forker (capt), T Kernan; C Watters, C O'Hanlon, M McKenna. Subs: P Morrison, J McElroy, N McConville, M Murray, S Forker, J Hall, J Feeney, G McParland, E McVerry, R McCaughley, E Rafferty.

DERRY (AFL v Tyrone): E McNicholl; O Duffy, C McKaigue (capt), K McKaigue; G McKinless, B Rogers, M Craig; N Holly, E Bradley; D Heavron, C McFaul, SL McGoldrick; R Bell, E McGuckin, J Kielt. Subs: T Mallon, R Ferris, C Mullan, J Morgan, N Forester, C McAtamney, C Bradley, S Heavron, D McKinless, C O'Boyle, B Heron.

TYRONE: N Morgan; A McCrory, R McNamee, C McCarron; B Tierney, R Brennan, T McCann; C Cavanagh, M Donnelly; K McGeary, P Harter, R Donnelly; C McAliskey, S Cavanagh, R O'Neill. Subs: M O'Neill, M Bradley, P Hampsey, C McCann, D McCurry, HP McGeary, J McMahon, P McNulty, C Meyler, J Monroe, N Sludden.

ROSCOMMON (AFL v Down): G Claffey; S McDermott, N Collins, N McInerney; C Daly, S Purcell, D Murray; E Smith, I Kilbride; F Cregg, C Murtagh (capt), C Devaney; C Connolly, S Kilbride, C Cregg.

MONAGHAN (AFL v Mayo): R Beggan; C Walshe, D Wylie, R Wylie; K Duffy, F Kelly, K O'Connell; N McAdam, D Hughes; S Carey, D Malone, T Kerr; O Duffy, D McKenna, C McManus. Subs: M Keogh, C Boyle, N McKeown, P McKenna, D Mone, M Thornton, G Doonan, P Keenan, R McAnespie, C McCarthy. B McGinn.

KILDARE (AFL v Limerick): T Corley; P Kelly, D Hyland, E Powderly; J Byrne, F Conway, C O'Donoghue; K Feely, D Flynn; C McNally, E O'Flaherty, M Byrne; N Kelly, F Dowling, A Smith.

Seán Moran

Seán Moran

Seán Moran is GAA Correspondent of The Irish Times