Adrian Marren leads charge as Sligo rock Roscommon

Niall Carew’s side earn Connacht final date with champions Mayo

Sligo 1-14 Roscommon 0-13

Adrian Marren fired Sligo into the Connacht senior football final as the home side shocked Roscommon at Markievicz Park.

Marren's 32nd minute penalty was the catalyst for Niall Carew side's deserved success and they comfortably held Roscommon at bay to record a famous win.

Roscommon kicked 13 wides over the 70 minutes but they were second best in too many departments as a hungrier Sligo side, led by Marren (who finished with a personal tally of 1-7), Pat Hughes, Mark Breheny, Cian Breheny, Niall Murphy and Ross Donovan, sealed their provincial final spot against Mayo on July 19th.

Cian Breheny and Marren (free) fired Sligo into an early led but Enda Smith opened Roscommon's account in the ninth minute.


Hughes and Marren kept Sligo's noses in front. Roscommon could gain little traction going forward and it took two fisted efforts from wing back Ciaran Cafferky to keep them in touch.

But the game's crucial score arrived with three minutes remaining in the opening half. Mark Breheny's effort for a point came back off the post. Neil Ewing reacted quickest but he was fouled by Neil Collins. Marren held his nerve from the penalty spot to help his side into a 1-7 to 0-5 interval advantage.

A point from Cathal Cregg within 10 seconds of the restart suggested that Roscommon had shaken off their lethargy. But Marren and Cian Breheny found the target from play to quench any notions of a Roscommon revival.

The visitors did have their chances and substitute Cian Connolly should have goaled after Sligo goalkeeper Aidan Devaney had denied Enda Smith.

Sligo still held the upperhand entering the last 10 minutes and captain Mark Breheny closed out the game with two fine scores to leave Sligo supporters delirious, and Roscommon reeling.

SLIGO: A Devaney; R Donovan, K McDonnell, D Maye; K Cawley, B Egan, E Flanagan; C Breheny (0-2), N Murphy; C Davey, M Breheny (0-2), N Ewing; D Kelly (0-1), P Hughes (0-2), A Marren (1-7, 1 pen, 3fs).

Subs: B Curran for Davey (35 mins, black card), S Gilmartin for Breheny (60 mins), J Hynes for Cawley (70 mins).

ROSCOMMON: D O'Malley; S McDermott, N Carty, N Collins; N Daly (0-1), D Ward, C Cafferky (0-2); I Kilbride, C Shine; E Smith (0-2), R Stack, C Cregg (0-4); D Murtagh, S Kilbride, C Murtagh (0-2, two fress).

Subs: C Connolly for D. Murtagh (34 mins), D. Smith (0-1) for Stack (half-timet), D Keenan for Ward (41 mins), C Compton for S. Kilbride (54 mins), F Cregg (0-1, free) for C Murtagh (55 mins), M. Finneran for Shine (65 mins, black card).

Referee: M Deegan (Laois).