Dublin hurling boss Ger Cunningham gets off to a winning start

Eamonn Dillon and the versatile Liam Rushe score a combined 2-9 against DIT

Dublin 4-20 DIT 1-12

A couple of old reliables got the new Ger Cunningham era with Dublin off to a flying start.

Liam Rushe and Eamonn Dillon swooped for a combined 2-9 to leave the Dubs in pole position in their Walsh Cup group.

It was a maiden win for Cork legend Cunningham in his first competitive game as Dubs chief. His inherited side were rarely troubled at Parnell Park and had victory virtually secured when they led by 10 points in the third quarter.


Cunningham experimented with Shane Barrett and Ben Quinn in defence and a midfield of Kevin Byrne and Daire Plunkett. The real talking point was the placement of established players though with midfielder John McCaffrey at corner-back.

Up front, the versatile Rushe returned to full-forward having played there for a spell in 2012 and helped himself to 1-3.

Dillon finished with 1-6 and his 28th minute goal put the hosts in the clear with a 1-8 to 0-7 advantage.

The storming solo goal took his early tally to 1-2 and helped Dublin to a commanding 1-11 to 0-7 half-time lead.

Their momentum was briefly halted when Michael Lee netted a fine DIT goal from a tight angle. But six Dublin points in a row, including two from the influential Rushe, effectively killed off the contest.

Rushe shot the cheekiest of lobbed goals from close range in the 52nd minute and there were two more late goals from Niall McMorrow and David Treacy.

DUBLIN: A Nolan, J McCaffrey, M Carton, S Barrett, B Quinn, P Kelly, S Lambert, K Byrne, D Plunkett, C Keaney (0-3), E Dillon (1-6, 1 65), C Boland (0-1), N McMorrow (1-1), L Rushe (1-3), P Ryan (0-5, 1f, 2 65). Subs: E O'Donnell for Plunkett (50 mins), R O'Carroll for Byrne (54), D Treacy (1-1) for Ryan (57), J Hetherton for Boland (62 mins), F McGibb for Quinn (66 mins).

DIT: P McKenna, S Barron, B Carey, S McClelland, C Robinson, K Bergin, G Whelan, C Sheehan, J Cahill (0-1), J Sweeney, D McNicholas (0-8, 6f), A Nugent, M Lee (1-2), D Roberts, W McGrath (0-1). Subs: P O'Reilly for Barron 58, E Hayes for Nugent 60, J McManus for Carey 65.

Referee: T Carroll (Offaly)