O'Se dynasty grows ever stronger


It was never a question of if, but rather when, the O'Sé dynasty added another name to the GAA All-Star list and today Kerry defender Marc joined his brothers Darragh and Tomás in that particular hall of fame.

Though Tomás failed to earn the recognition in this year's selection, Marc's first appearance and Darragh's third came among six selections from the All-Ireland winning Kerry side. 

The awards were announced today by GAA president Nickey Brennan following the selection meeting at Dublin's Westbury Hotel.

Kingdom hero Seamus Moynihan was named at right half back with Aidan O'Mahony on the opposite flank. 

Paul Galvin won his second All-Star at right half forward while Kieran 'Star' Donaghy capped a dramatic debut year with a selection at full-forward.

Beaten finalists Mayo are represented by Conor Mortimer and Alan Dillon in the forwards, while their vanquished semi-final opponents Dublin have two players named in the shape of goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton, who wins his second All-Star, and forward Alan Brogan who collects his first.

Cork's Ger Spillane and Nicholas Murphy earn their first award and are named centre half back and midfield respectively.

Donegal's Karl Lacey and Armagh's Ronan Clarke both win their first awards while Fermanagh's Barry Owens caps another memorable season to add to his 2004 inclusion.

The awards will be presented on Friday night at the gala All Stars banquet in the City West Hotel during which the Hurling All Stars of 2006 will be announced.

The Footballer and Hurler of the Year will also be announced that night as well as the winners of the Young Footballer and Young Hurler of the Year awards.

The Vodafone GAA Football All Stars for 2006

Goalkeeper:Stephen Cluxton (Dublin) 2nd award (2002)

Right Full Back:Marc O'Sé  (Kerry) 1st

Full Back:Barry Owens (Fermanagh) 2nd ('04)

Left Full Back:  Karl Lacey (Donegal) 1st

Right Half Back:  Seamus Moynihan (Kerry) 3rd ('97, '00)

Centre Half Back: Ger Spillane (Cork) 1st

Left Half Back:Aidan O'Mahony (Kerry) 1st

Midfield: Darragh O'Sé  (Kerry) 3rd ('00, '02), Nicholas Murphy (Cork) 1st

Right Half Forward:Paul Galvin (Kerry) 2nd ('04)

Centre Half Forward:Alan Brogan (Dublin) 1st

Left Half Forward:Alan Dillon (Mayo) 1st

Right Full Forward:Conor Mortimer (Mayo) 1st

Full Forward:Kieran Donaghy (Kerry) 1st

Left Full Forward:Ronan Clarke (Armagh) 1st