Members of new council on science named


THE membership of the new 23 member council established to advise the Government on science policy represents a strong mix of interests.

Details of the body were announced yesterday by the Minister of State for Commerce Science and Technology, Mr Pat Rabbitte. The council was promised in the Government's White Paper on science released last October.

He said its role will be to advise the Minister and the Office of Science and Technology on education, finance for innovation, industrial research and technology and developing public awareness of science.

"We have set out a deliberately broad terms of reference for the council," Mr Rabbitte said yesterday, adding that the "usual politicking has been avoided" in choosing membership.

"It would serve as a lobby for the science and technology sector and would enjoy a high degree of independence.

Its membership includes research scientist and commercial interests in the form of leading technology based companies. Dr Edward Walsh, president of the University of Limerick, will chair the council.

The membership of the Science, Technology and Innovation Advisory Council is Dr Edward Walsh (chairman); Mr Brian Sweeney, Siemens Ltd; Prof Jane Grimson, TCD (information society/computers); Prof Michael Ryan, DCU (computer applications); Prof Cecily Kelleher, UCG (health); Dr Donald Fitzmaurice, UCD (chemistry); Dr Sean McDonagh, Dundalk RTC; Prof David McConnell, TCD (genetics); Ms Ann Riordan, Microsoft Ltd; Mr John Travers, Forfas; Dr Liam Downey, Teagasc; Prof Jim Brown, UCG (manufacturing/engineering); Mr Brian Trench, DCU (communications); Dr David Melody, Loctite Ireland Ltd; Dr Ann Francis, Quest International Ireland Ltd; Mr Colum McDonnell, Irish Exporters' Association; Prof Eimear Colleran, UCG (environment); Prof Maire Mulcahy, UCC (marine); Prof Susan McKenna Lawlor Maynooth University (physics); Pro Michael Gibney, TCD (nutrition); Mr Paul Holden, Redacteurs Software Documentation Ltd; Mr Owen Conway, Waterford Stanley Ltd; and Ms Alice Peendergast, TUI.