Kings and Killers lead the Meteors way


THE KILLERS performance at Oxegen where they warmed up a rain-drenched, muddied and exhausted crowd as the last act of the festival has been nominated for a Meteor Music Award.

The US rock band’s appearance was included in the best international live performance category for 2008. Unfortunately, however, the nominated show was at Oxegen 2007. They did not play last year’s festival.

Fans noticed the mistake when the nominations for this year’s awards, which take place on St Patrick’s Day, went online yesterday morning.

It has since been amended and The Killers have been nominated for their performance at Marlay Park last August instead.

The Killers and Kings of Leon are the only international acts to receive three nominations.

Irish groups The Script, Fight Like Apes and The Blizzards also have a similar number.

The Script, who had international success with their eponymous debut album, are nominated for best Irish album, best Irish band and best Irish pop act.

The Blizzards have also been nominated for best Irish band and best Irish pop act. Their performance at Oxegen saw them nominated for best Irish live act – and they really did play the festival last year.

Pop-punk outfit Fight Like Apes have been nominated in the best Irish album category for their well-received debut, Fight Like Apesand the Mystery of the Golden Medallion, which was released in September. The album has also been nominated in the Choice Music Prize.

The band, who are currently in the middle of a UK tour, are also included in the category for best Irish band and best live Irish act for their performance at Whelan’s last year.

Lisa Hannigan’s debut album Sea Sewsees her nominated in the best album and best Irish female category. Joining her in the latter category is newcomer Imelda May and Wicklow singer-songwriter Tara Blaise.

Irish hip-hop act Messiah J The Expert, who supported The Streets last week, are a surprise nominee in the best album category.

The awards take place in the RDS and will be presented by Amanda Byram.

Musician Sharon Shannon will be honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The public will vote in all the Irish categories including best national DJ and best regional DJ.

The international awards will be chosen by a music industry panel.