Five chosen for vacancies in Seanad


THE Taoiseach has nominated five unsuccessful general election candidates from the outgoing Government parties to fill vacancies in the Seanad.

The new senators are Mr Tom Berkery (Fine Gael, Tipperary North), Ms Niamh Bhreathnach (Labour, Dun Laoghaire), Ms Niamh Cosgrave (Fine Gael, Dublin North Central), Mr Micheal Enright (Democratic Left, Wexford) and Mr Aidan O'Connor (Fine Gael, Kerry South).

They will be members of the Seanad for less than two months, as voting closes for the new Seanad on August 6th.

The filling of the vacancies has a political importance as members of the Oireachtas are entitled to vote in the election for the new Seanad.