A ballot box in one hand does the trick


ANALYSIS/Sinn Fein: The four new Sinn Féin TDs are:

Sean Crowe

Dublin South West

A long-time community activist and a member of South Dublin County Council since 1999, he has been groomed by the party to take a seat for more than a decade. He lost his deposit when he ran in the 1989 and 1992 general elections. His profile was raised significantly after he won nearly 19,000 votes in the European elections in 1999.

Martin Ferris

Kerry North

Once a fisherman, he was long regarded as an IRA hardliner. He was imprisoned after he was captured on board the Marita Anne in 1984. He went on hunger strike during another sentence in Portlaoise jail.

Arthur Morgan


From Omeath, Co Louth, he is a member of the party's Árd Comhairle. He was embarrassed during the campaign after the family of Mr Tom Oliver, who was murdered by the IRA in 1991, called on him to demand a full inquiry into his killing.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh

Dublin South Central

A former Bord na Gaeilge employee and a SIPTU shop steward, he worked as a literacy teacher in Dublin's inner city after attending university.

He has been a full-time public representative in Ballyfermot for the last two years.