European Parliament building in Strasbourg. Photograph: AP/Christian Lutz

The two lowest polling candidates in the European Parliament elections in May will not take their seats until the United Kingdom leaves the European U(...)

Forget him not: John Perry of Fine Gael. Photograph: Brenda Fitzsimons

Former Fine Gael minister of state John Perry will attempt to make his political comeback this week as he contests what is certain to be one of the mo(...)

Joe Costello leaving the Four Courts on Monday  after his  High Court action was adjourned until Tuesday. Photograph: Collins

The next Dáil will be unconstitutional unless new laws increasing the number of TDs are implemented before a general election is called, the High Cour(...)

With the Dáil in recess the minority government is in no immediate danger so TDs have time to ponder the likely impact of the recent Constituency Comm(...)

Sinn Féin TD for Dublin Central Mary Lou McDonald is likely to fight the next election as the party’s  leader if, as expected, Gerry Adams stands down in advance. Photograph: Dara Mac Dónaill

Political parties are paying particular attention to four constituencies where the number of seats has changed for the next general election. The thr(...)

The Constituency Commission is proposing to raise the number of TDs from 158 to 160, the maximum allowed under the current law. Photograph: Brenda Fitzsimons

A feature of the latest Dáil constituency revision is that 17 of the 39 constituencies will exceed the constitutional limit for the ratio of populatio(...)

Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government Simon Coveney has established a new Constituency Commission in response to Census 2016. Photograph: Gareth Chaney/Collins

The number of TDs in the next Dáil will increase by no more than two from the current 158 in response to the rise in population revealed by the census(...)

Watched by Labour Party leader Joan Burton, the new Dáil’s youngest TD, Fianna Fáil’s Jack Chambers (25), makes his acceptance speech after being elected for the Dublin West constituency. Photograph: Alan Betson

25: There will be a number of young TDs taking seats in Leinster House for the new Dáil, and Fianna Fáil’s Jack Chambers claims the honour of being th(...)

Independent Alliance candiate Seán Canney who has topped the poll in Galway East. Photograph: Dan Griffin.

Independent TD Seán Canney topped the poll in Galway East and will enter the Dáil with Fianna Fáil newcomer Anne Rabbitte and incumbent Fine Gael TD C(...)

The election of Fianna Fáil’s Eugene Murphy is the only major surprise of the general election result in the Roscommon Galway constituency. From Scr(...)

  • 1
  • 2
  • Next
  • Last »