Pres Cork take title and deny Crescent double


Pres Cork denied their opponents a cup double in claiming their 28th title at Temple Hill yesterday. While they had to rely on a last-ditch tackle by outstanding number eight Jack O'Sullivan to stop Daniel Hurley in injury-time, Pres were value for their victory.

Despite Crescent having first use of the strong wind, Pres spent most of the first half in opposition territory.

Their pressure was rewarded with a James Broderick penalty after 16 minutes before Pres struck for the first try five minutes later, when captain Jack O'Shea swept through to touch down near the posts. Broderick converted for 10-0.

Crescent needed a boost and got it in the second minute of added on time following a brilliant run from his own 10m line by the powerful Hurley, who offloaded to Aaron Cosgrove, who just made it in the corner for an unconverted try.

The Cork side continued where they left off on the resumption and pinned Crescent back, with scrumhalf Harry Shanahan kicking cleverly. Broderick missed a couple of penalties, but Crescent prop Jack Henchy was yellowcarded in the 38th minute.


Pres grabbed their second try from the ensuing penalty, which was planted to the corner. Concerted pressure on the visitors’ line told when flanker Cian Fitzgerald broke through. Broderick converted for 17-5 after 40 minutes.

Crescent's double dream was quickly fading, but they never gave up the chase. Six minutes from the end of regulation time substitute Mark Fitzgerald touched down in the left corner and Brian Ryan kicked a brilliant conversion, but Pres held on.
PBC CORK : M Healy; P Buckley, J Broderick, J O'Shea (capt), M St Leger; P Sylvester, H Shanahan; N O'Brien, B Scannell, K Morris; C O'Flynn, J O'Sullivan; B O'Connor, Jack O'Sullivan, C Fitzgerald. Replacement: D O'Brien for Scannell (57 mins).
CRESCENT COLLEGE : B Ryan; K Brosnahan, D Hurley, M Shanahan, A Cosgrove; M Hanley, B Fitzgerald; J Henchy, M Sheehan, S Garry-Scanlon; S Leahy, P King; T Connolly, J Blake (capt), E Wixted. Replacements : R McMahon for Wixted (40 mins), M Fitzgerald for Shanahan (47 mins), E O'Halloran for Sheehan (48 mins).
Referee : K Imbusch (MAR)