Connacht squads: school by school


Summerhill College Sligo

Coaches: Ross Mannion (Head Coach) Rory Kerins.
Captain: Conan O’Donnell
Squad: Conan O Donnell, Shane O Hehir, Luke Walsh, Luke Morrison, Stephen Kerins, Ciaran Cassidy, Thomas Mullaney, Cillian Gallagher, Jack Keegan, Jackson Smith, Liam McElhinney, Darren Harte, Ronan Redmond, Andrew Kerr, Ross Crystal, Cian Hough, Diarmuid Hough, Niall Crawley, Alex Selby, Darragh Cummins.
Representative honours: Irish Schools - Conan O’Donnell. Connacht Under 18s - Jack Keegan, Darragh Cummins, Stephen Kerins and O’Donnell.
Prospects: Potential surprise package, targeting a semi final spot with home games against the Jes and Garbally College.

Marist College 

Coaches: Mick Loftus (Head coach) and David Fagan.
Captains: Charlie McMickan and Conor McGrath
Squad: Cillene Walshe, Brian Collins, Patrick Browne, Jamie O’Keefe, Michael McLoughlin, Cathal Maleady, Lorcan Seery, Cian Irwin, Patrick Dooner, Ross Flanagan, Tristram Ryan, Conor Duignan, Austin Murphy, Jack Mc Gann, Bobby Pears, Stephan Sheehan, Odhran Daly, Thomas Finucane, Ross Cooper, Killian O’ Donnell, Ben Kennedy, Neale Conway, Charlie Mc Mickan, Paul Daly, Oisin Rowe, Conor McGrath, Conall O’ Bri´ren, Eoin Elliott, Luke Carty, Kristian Jocher.
Representative honours: Connacht Under 18 - Charle McMickan and Conal O’Brien
Prospects: Looking for three in a row but start as outsiders, should make the semi final with 13 panel members having title winning experience.

Rice College

Coaches: Martin Connolly (Head Coach), Joe O’Grady and Tommy Tobin.
Captain: Michael O’Grady
Squad: Cillian Browne, Darragh Browne, Conor Burke, Jack Cashman, Steven Cawley, Conor Conway, Sean Coughlan, Richard Duffy, Edward Dunning, Robert Fabby, Niall Feehan, Ciaran Harrington, Brian McCormack, Diarmuid McGrea, Tom McHale, Brendan McLoughlin, Tadhg McNally, Keith Moon, Paul Moran, Michael O’Grady, Fearghal O’Mahoney, Philip O’Malley, Ross Prendergast, Sean Ryder, Sean Southgate, Stephen Staunton, Sean Tobin.
Representative Honours: Connacht Under 19s - Sean Tobin. Connacht Under 18 - Tom McHale, Michael O’Grady

St Joseph’s , Galway ( Bish)

Coach: Ambrose Conboy (Head Coach).
Captain: Niall Mulloy
Squad: Evan Doyle, Cian Hornibrook, Evan Brady, Aaron Mulry, Ferghal Dooley, Colin Finnerty, Ronan Kelly, Ross Elwood, Karl Burke, James Brogan, Kieran Joyce, Malcolm Hanley, Peadar O’Beirne, Niall Mulloy, Mark Kenny, Rory Millar, Oisin Carey, James Maxwell, Jack Maloney, Leo Courtney, Stephen Carroll, Mark McDonagh, Phelim McGovern, Rory Burke, Peter Beegan, Shane Casserley, Peter Crotty, Dylan Doyle, Lairgnan McDermott, Goffrey Casserly, James Mitchell. 
Representative Honours: Connacht Under 18 - Malcolm Hanley, Cian Hornibrook
Prospect: Outsiders in their three team pool, looking to upset the odds against either Sligo Grammar or Marist College.

Coláiste Iognáid (the Jes)

Coaches: Paul Kilraine (Head coach), Colin Conroy, Jake Heenan and John King.
Captain: Eoghan Hannon.
Squad: Paddy Buttler, Morgan Codyre, Eoghan Croker, Carl Delaney, William Finnerty, Eoghan Feehan, Ryan Flaherty, Donnchadha Forde, Conor Greaney, Eoghan Hannon, Cormac Heskin, Ryan Hunt, Michael Jones, Richard Kelly, Robbie Kenny, Mel Kilroy, Dylan McGlynn, Ruairí Hunt, McHugh, Seán McKeogh, Liam McKnight, Ciarán Murphy, Philip Murphy, Donncha O Conchuir, John O’ Connor, Conn O’ Flynn, Fiachra O Griofa, Dara O’ Toole, Harry Power, Cormac Rowe, Cian Shaughnessy, Mark Trainor, Zane Wilkinson.
Representative Honours: Sweden Under 18 - Philip Murphy
Prospects: Semi finals is the first target but they have two very challenging away fixtures in the pool stages to overcome.


Garbally College 

Coaches: Michael Horan (Head Coach), Geoff Kenny and Ronan Flannagan.
Captain: Sean Horan
Squad: Darren O’Hara, Niall Higgins, Anothony Curley, Conor Noone, Conor Kenny, Kevin FLynn, Sam Hollan, Peter Claffey, Andrew Foulger, Oisin Lyons, COnor Barrett, Dylan Connolly, Ryan Glennon, Jack Codyre, Donnachadh Reilly, Frankie Hopkins, Simon Keller, Ian Duffy, Sean Horan, Shane Kelly, Eoin McCormack, Peter Flannery, Cian Dooley, Stephen Tierney, Sam Parker, Robbie Kelly, Liam Murray, James Killmartin.
Representative Honours: Irish Schools: Conor Kenny, Peter Claffey. Connacht Under 19 - Jack Codyre. Connacht Under 18 - Niall Higgins, Sam Holland, Dylan Connolly, Simon Keller, Peter Flannery, Kenny and Claffey.
Prospects: League title winners in the Autumn, beaten finalists last year, they will have plenty of tough challenges but could secure a first title since 2007.


Sligo Grammar

Coaches: James Gavin (Head Coach) Simon Galvin, Chris Nairn and Tommy Cradock.
Captain: Joe Conway
Squad: Nicolas Barthel, John Bartely, Joe Bennett, Peter Brittain, Dáire Byrne, Mervyn Carter, Joe Conway, Colin Davis, Cian Doyle, Ryan Feehily, T.J.Ford, Jason Greer, Jonathan Higgins, Cathal Joyce, Paul Kilcoyne, Daniel Layden, Austin McGuinn, Andrew Moffitt, Brian Moore, John Oloyede, Peter Oloyede, Ben Rooney, Jake Sexton, Dairóg Smith, Luke Stanley, Grant Tierney, Neville Walker*
Representative Players: Connacht Under 18 - Matthew Cosgrove, Joe Conway, Joe Bennett, Ryan Feehily and Dáire Byrne.
Prospects: Can top their pool and therefore should make it to a final and a possible league final rematch with Garbally College in the decider.


The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
Error Image
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.
Screen Name Selection


Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.