Bowe named on the left wing for Ulster

Payne switches to fullback in place of the injured Gilroy, with Cave and Wilson starting

After recovering from a dead leg, Tommy Bowe has been named in the Ulster side to face Leicester Tigers in their opening Heineken Cup fixture at Ravenhill on Friday, but Ruan Pienaar will be on the bench.

The Ireland and Lions wing sustained the injury against Treviso two weeks ago, but returns to the back three along with Andrew Trimble and Jared Payne tomorrow, the latter replacing Craig Gilroy, who was withdrawn early against Ospreys last week with an ankle injury. Darren Cave will, therefore, start at outside centre.

Up front, there is just one change that sees Roger Wilson replace Robbie Diack at blindside flanker. New Zealand prop John Afoa remains unavailable with an ankle injury.

Pienaar has just returned to Belfast after the completion of the Rugby Championship but Mark Anscombe has opted for Paul Marshall instead of the South African, who has just signed a three-year extension.

Former Leinster academy and Ireland underage international Niall Morris starts at fullback for the Leicester Tigers.

Ulster: J Payne; A Trimble, D Cave, L Marshall, T Bowe; P Jackson, P Marshall; T Court, R Best, D Fitzpatrick; J Muller (captain), D Tuohy; R Wilson, C Henry, N Williams. Replacements: R Herring, C Black, R Lutton, I Henderson, R Diack, R Pienaar, S Olding, M Allen.

Leicester Tigers: N Morris; M Benjamin, V Goneva, D Bowden, AThompstone; Toby Flood (capt), B Youngs; L Mulipola, T Youngs, D Cole; L Deacon, G Parling; E Slater, J Salvi, J Crane. Replacements: N Briggs, B Stankovich, F Balmain, G Kitchener, T Waldrom, D Mele, O Williams, T Hepetema.