Kelly the Nicky Rackard hero for Roscommon

Skipper claims the silverware with last puck of the game against Armagh

Roscommon 2-12 Armagh 1-14

Micheal Kelly nailed the captain fantastic role for Roscommon with a dramatic 72nd minute winning goal to secure the Nicky Rackard Cup title on Saturday afternoon.

The Rossies trailed by two points when they won a 20-metre free and were informed it would be the last puck of the game.

Skipper Kelly strode forward from centre-back and unleashed an unstoppable shot to the roof of the Roscommon net to seal a one-point win.


It was all the more incredible as Roscommon had trailed since the 27th minute, were 1-8 to 1-5 down at half-time and lost sub Cathal Kelly to a 58th minute red card.

But Kelly clearly had other ideas and gave a passionate speech afterwards where he informed the Croke Park crowd that Roscommon would no longer be renowned as a football county.

Roscommon’s previous title in 2007 also came at Armagh’s expense though the Orchard County appeared primed for revenge.

Cathal Carvill’s 30th minute goal for Armagh separated the sides at half-time and Armagh would move five clear after 40 minutes.

Roscommon did reduce the margin to a single point twice late on. But they lost Kelly to a straight red card and Ryan Gaffney’s eighth converted free of the day left Armagh two ahead with time almost up. But Roscommon had one last ace up their sleeve in the shape of Kelly.

Roscommon: N Fallon; I Delaney, P Kellehan, L Kilcline; D Leonard, M Kelly (1-0, 1f), T Seale; C Dolan, J Kilkenny; J Moran (0-3), R O’Meara, J Fallon (0-4, 4f); C Egan (0-1), K Kilkenny (0-1), A Murphy (1-1). Subs: C Kelly for Dolan (34), J Coyne (0-2) for Seale (h/t), C Kenny for Egan (44), E Flanagan for Murphy (61), G Fallon for J Fallon (64).

Armagh: S Doherty; S Renaghan, C Clifford, C Devlin; S Gaffney, N Curry (0-1, 1 65), K McKernan; J Corvan, D Coulter (0-2); R Gaffney (0-8, 8f), C Carvill (1-0), D Carvill (0-1); M Moan, E McGuinness (0-1), C Corvan (0-1). Subs: C Gorman for Moan (53), C McKee for McGuinness (63), A McGuinness for D Carvill (66).

Referee: J O’Brien (Tipperary).