England may live to regret loss lap


New Zealand have vowed to make England live to regret their Old Trafford lap of honour when they clash in the second Test at Twickenham next Saturday. The All Blacks want to end their tour - and mammoth international programme in 1997 - on a high by increasing the misery for Clive Woodward's men who were outplayed by South Africa on Saturday.

Stung by the reaction to the first match - which they won 25-8 - New Zealand are preparing themselves for one last hurrah before they head off for a month in the sun.

"We have a point to prove at Twickenham and the team will be very highly motivated," warned coach John Hart after his side's five-try 42-7 defeat of Wales at Wembley on Saturday.

"We perhaps didn't play as well as we could have in the last game and we want to put that right. The next week is very important to the whole squad.

"We were a little disappointed with some of the comments after the first game against England and with the reaction of some of their players. We won the game pretty convincingly, but the way some were talking you might have thought we lost the match."

Feelings are already running high following the first match which began in controversy when England hooker Richard Cockerill went eyeball-to-eyeball with opposite number Norm Hewitt during the All Black's pre-game haka.

Meanwhile, New Zealand have made four changes to the midweek side for their final tour outing against England `A' at Leicester tomorrow night.

Coach John Hart has called up centre Alama Ieremia, scrum-half Mark Robinson, prop Gordon Slater and number eight Steve Surridge from the team that defeated an English Rugby Partnership XV 18-11 in Bristol last week.

New Zealand: T Miller (Waikato); T Umaga (Wellington), S McLeod (Waikato), A Ieremia (Wellington), G Osborne (North Harbour); C Spencer (Auckland), M Robinson (North Harbour); M Allen (Central Vikings), G Slater (Taranaki), A Oliver (Otago), C Riechelmann (Auckland), M Cooksley (Waikato), T Blackadder (Canterbury, capt), M Carter (Auckland), S Surridge (Canterbury).

Replacements: J Stanley (Auckland), J Preston (Wellington), A Blowers (Auckland), A Hopa (Waikato), C Barrell (Canterbury), N Hewitt (Southland).