Another day, another drubbing for Limerick hurlers


Tipperary 2-24 Limerick 0-8  ANOTHER BIG beating for Limerick hurlers as Tipperary strolled to a 22-point victory is sure to spark demands for an end to the crisis which has gripped the county for the past five months. That Limerick were reduced to 14 players after only 13 minutes had a bearing on the outcome but, even so, the lack of experience was evident from early on.

Limerick’s cause was not helped when Dean Madden was dismissed for a second yellow card after for a wild pull on Shane McGrath.

Limerick could manage only two points in the first half – both from Graeme Mulcahy from play – while Tipperary scored 1-10, with Eoin Kelly getting 0-5 (four frees) to have the visitors leading 1-10 to 0-2 at the end of a miserable half.

The goal came after 25 minutes when Kelly created the chance for Timmy Hammersley, who rounded two defenders before beating Tadhg Flynn.

Any slender hopes of even a respectable scoreline evaporated for Limerick eight minutes into the second period when half-time substitute John O’Brien blasted in a second goal for Tipperary.

While Tipperary picked off points at will, Limerick did manage six points in the last 22 minutes, two of them from frees.

Tipperary manager Liam Sheedy hauled off Eoin Kelly, Shane McGrath and Shane Callanan with 20 minutes remaining.

While defenders such as Shane O’Neill, Des Kenny and Nicky Quaid did well for Limerick, from midfield on, they were at sea once Madden departed.

Limerick hit 15 wides, one more than Tipperary, but for the latter it not not really matter.

LIMERICK:T Flynn; D Lynch, D Kenny, S O’Neill; L O’Dwyer, A Brennan, N Quaid; B O’Sullivan (0-1), D Madden; P Browne (0-1), J O’Brien, C Mullane; G Mulcahy (0-2), P McNamara (0-2, frees), A O’Connor. Subs:P Harty for Mullane (half-time), A Owens (0-1) for O’Connor, R McKeogh (0-1) for Harty (55 mins), K O’Rourke for Lynch (60 mins), P Russell for O’Brien (65 mins).

TIPPERARY:D Gleeson; P Stapleton, P Curran, C O’Brien; D Young, P Maher, H Moloney; B Maher, S McGrath; S Hennessy (0-6), S Callanan, G Ryan (0-2); E Kelly (0-5, four frees), M Webster (0-2), T Hammersley (1-4, one free). Subs:J O’Brien (1-2) for Callanan (half-time), J Devane (0-2) for McGrath (44 mins), P Kelly for E Kelly, (45 mins), M Heffernan (0-1) for Maher (53 mins), T Stapleton for Webster (67).

Referee:M Wadding (Waterford)

Delegates to make McCarthy decision

LIMERICK MANAGER Justin McCarthy and his management team face a tense wait when delegates from the Limerick County Board meet in camera tomorrow night. Clubs are seeking that all decisions taken in relation to the management team since December be rescinded but it will require a two-thirds majority if the management team are to be sacked.