TCD paper takes prize


DUBLIN CITY University received almost a third of the prizes at the “Smedias” – the national student media awards last night. Among the 10 DCU students award-winners were Samuel Hamilton, who collected journalist of the year and magazine of the year, while Stephen Mangan was recognised as both sports and feature writer of the year.

Joanne Hunt of DCU was named national press journalist of the year, James Foley took photographer of the year and radio DJ of the year was Russell James Alford.

For the fourth year running, a newspaper from Trinity College Dublin (TCD) won The Irish Times-sponsored newspaper of the year award.

Robert Donohoe and Conor Smith of The University Timescollected the top prize, beating campus rival and last year’s winner Trinity News. The paper’s modern layout and strong editorial tone were praised by Irish Timesmanaging editor Eoin McVey. TCD students also won awards for web design (Martin McKenna) and for a short story (Dan Sheehan).

The editor of the year prize went to for Caitríona Laverty for The University Observer, one of five awards collected by University College Dublin students.