'Minister must go'


IndependentsTen Independent TDs have called on Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform Michael McDowell to resign over his handling of the under-age rape issue.

Led by Dublin Central TD Tony Gregory, the TDs insisted the Minister should have been better prepared to deal with the aftermath of last week's Supreme Court ruling.

"It just goes to show that this Government is tired and incompetent and should go, and Michael McDowell should be the first to go. They seem to be in some sort of paralysis," said Mr Gregory.

Other Independents involved are Clare TD, James Breen; Cavan/Monaghan's Paudge Connolly; Galway East's Paddy McHugh; Socialist Party leader, Joe Higgins; Dublin North Central TD, Finian McGrath; Tipperary South TD, Seán Healy, and Mayo TD, Jerry Cowley.

Sligo/Leitrim TD, Marian Harkin, who represents the North-West constituency in the European Parliament, is also likely to support the call.