Cork secure Munster camogie title


Cork 2-11 Tipperary 0-12:  Cork were crowned Munster senior camogie champions for the 49th time as they defeated long-standing rivals Tipperary 2-11 to 0-12 at Páirc Uí Rinn.

It was a measure of Tipp's determination that Cork goalkeeper Aoife Murray received the player of the match award.

Cork had a comfortable 2-6 to 0-5 lead at the break before Tipperary turned on the style to come back at their opponents in the second period.

Emer O'Farrell scored Cork's first goal after six minutes. Sheila Burns score the second with a long range effort from 40 yards out.

Claire Grogan led the Tipp recovery with her personal tally of  0-9 but Cork had the experience and nerve to see out the win.

Rachel Moloney was Cork's top scorer with six points, including four from frees. O'Farrell and Burns tallied 1-1 each.