New chairman and board members to be appointed to Road Safety Authority

Minister for Transport Paschal Donohoe will appoint a new chairman and least three new board members to the Road Safety Authority next month.

Current chairman Gay Byrne is retiring after eight years in the role. Mr Byrne has repeatedly criticised the impact of the reduction in Garda resources for the Traffic Corps.

Since the RSA was set up in 2006, road fatalities dropped from 368 to a record low of 162 in 2012. However, fatalities rose to 190 last year and are on course to increase again this year.

The current RSA board members are: Aine Cornally, Myra Garrett, Aaron McHale, Eddie Rock, Ronan Melvin, Dr Aine Carroll, Sean Finan, Aideen Carberry and John Mulvihill.